HomeFeaturesInsecurity: Anambra Imposes 12-Hour Curfew On 6 Communities

Insecurity: Anambra Imposes 12-Hour Curfew On 6 Communities

Listen to article

The Anambra State Government has imposed a 12-hour curfew on six communities in Oyi and Anambra East Local Government Areas.

Prof. Solo Chukwulobelu, Secretary to the State Government, announced this in a statement on Monday in Awka.

Chukwulobelu listed the affected communities as Igbariam, Aguleri, Umueri, Nteje, Awkuzu, And Umunya.

He said the curfew which took immediate effect would last between 7 pm and 6 am daily.

Read Also:Tension As Unknown Gunmen Kill 9 In Anambra

The secretary to Anambra government urged residents of the affected communities to adhere strictly to the order as security personnel would ensure strict enforcement.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that the police had earlier announced that nine yet-to-be-identified persons were killed by gunmen at Nteje community.

Sources said the report of the killing has left residents of Nteje and some neighboring communities in fear.

Local sources also revealed that some residents are already fleeing their homes in search of safety.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments