HomePoliticsUzodimma Hails Isiguzo On Re-election As NUJ President

Uzodimma Hails Isiguzo On Re-election As NUJ President

Listen to article

Imo State Governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma, has congratulated Comrade Chris Isiguzo on his re-election to the office of the President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ).

In a statement which was made available to The Eastern Updates by his Chief Press Secretary and Media Adviser, Oguwike Nwachuku, the governor said that Comrade Isiguzo had demonstrated leadership capacity that made it possible for him to win the trust, support, and confidence of his colleagues.

Governor Uzodimma also commended delegates for the election for the zeal and orderliness demonstrated during the electoral process, urging the new executive members to use their positions and talents to serve the union.

Read Also: FG To Give Imo $120m For Livestock Programme – Uzodinma

The Eastern Updates had earlier reported that South East Bureau Chief of ThisDay newspaper, Chris Isiguzo, from the Enugu Zone, has on Friday morning emerged the National President of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) at the union’s general election in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Isiguzo polled 346 votes to defeat the incumbent, Waheed Odusile, who polled 329 votes. Announcing the results at the June 12 Cultural Centre in Abeokuta, the Returning Officer from Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Benson Upah, commended the peaceful conduct of all the participants. Upah, who is the National Head of NLC’s Information and Public Affairs, declared Isiguzo winner of the election that had seven contestants.

The other contestants were Bamidele Atunbi, who had 101 votes; Abiodun Olalere, 56 votes; Jacob Edi, 16 votes; Alademka Adelegan, nine votes and Uzaka Abraham, 30 votes. For the National Treasurer position, Mohammed She defeated two other contestants, while Muhamod Umar was elected National Auditor. For the Vice President position, Yusuf Idris was elected vice president Zone A; Cosmos Olalekan was elected VP Zone B; Petrus Samfochi won the election for Zone C, Wilson Bako was elected VP Zone D, Ogunle Akpati was elected VP Zone F, while Izma Abdullahi was elected Secretary Zone A and Suleiman Gimba, Secretary for Zone E.



- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments