Home Features Okocha, Kanu, Chukwu, Ajunwa Make 60 Sports Icons List

Okocha, Kanu, Chukwu, Ajunwa Make 60 Sports Icons List

Listen to article

Members of the Super Eagles teams of 1980, 1994, Atlanta 1996 as well as track and Field and boxing dominated the list of the 60 sports icons that were unveiled during the celebration of Nigeria’s most outstanding sports icons in the last 60 years.

The event, which took place at the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium Abuja, yesterday, will have the pictures of the stars on display for 60 days.

According to the votes cast to pick the outstanding stars through various platforms, mercurial Super Eagles players like Nwankwo Kanu, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, Daniel Amokachi, Garba Lawal, Emmanuel Amunike of the famed 1994 and Atlanta 1996 Dream Team were selected by a wide spectrum of Nigerians. Also selected are the 1980 Green Eagles who won Nigeria’s maiden Nations Cup on home soil with team captain, Christian Chukwu and Segun Odegbami listed individually. Emmanuel Okala and Mudashiru Lawal were also picked as symbol of the 1980 Green Eagles.

The Golden Eaglets squad of 1985 that paraded the likes of Captain Nduka Ugbade, Victor Igbinoba and coached by Sebastian Brodricks- Imasuen were also recognised. Nigeria’s first Olympics medallist Nojeem Maiyegun, first individual Gold medallist Chioma Ajunwa, Mary Onyali, Sunday Bada, Commonwealth Games Medalists Olawunmi Majekodunmi, Samuel Igun, world boxing champions, Hogan Kid Bassey, Dick Tiger, Chidi Imoh, female Wrestler Odunayo  Adekuruoye also made the list. Legendary footballer Teslim Thunder Balogun, Ace radio commentators, Mazi Ernest Okonkwo, Dr. Larry Izamoje, Sports Philanthropist Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Moshood Abiola and Chief Adebutu Kesington, among others, also made the icons list.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Imo Youths Commend Hon Ejiogu For Exemplary Leadership

House of Assembly member representing the people of Owerri North State Constituency in the Imo State Legislature, Honourable Philip Ejiogu has been commended for...

How IPOB Members Invaded Police Stations In Rivers

Rivers Police Command said about 500 hoodlums suspected to be members of the proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) attacked four police stations in...

Three Council Headquarters, Market Set Ablaze In Imo State

Two local government council headquarters, Umuelemai in Isiala-Mbano and Umuezeala in Ehime-Mbano LGAs in Imo State have been reportedly burnt down by angry youths...

End SARS: 21 Police Stations Attacked, 7 Burnt

After the wave of attacks that rocked police formations in Anambra State between Tuesday and Thursday, the state police command has begun to count...

Recent Comments