HomeFeaturesDike Named As New Imo FA Chairman

Dike Named As New Imo FA Chairman

Listen to article

Following an election conducted in Owerri, the Imo State capital, Barrister Ifeanyi Dike has been elected as the ninth chairman of the Imo Football Association alongside eight others. 

The Eastern Updates reports that others elected were Sylvester Obasi (as Vice Chairman), Charles Nnadi, Kelechi Mejuobi, Casimir Mbachu, Jennifer Anusiem, Sunny Ndubuisi Ekeocha, Osita Nzenwa, and Angela Nkwo-Akpolu as members, while Godfrey Ndudi was returned as secretary.

In his acceptance speech, Dike thanked the delegates for their support and pledged to reposition the state in the round leather game.

Read Also: Imo Guber: Why Imolites Should Re-Elect Uzodinma – Ganduje

Dike said he will consolidate the track record of the immediate past chairman, Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, and ensure the Imo FA is taken to enviable heights.

The election was supervised by the chairman of the Abia State Football Association, Rev Obioma Onyeaghala, who represented the First Vice President of the Nigerian Football Federation, Chief Felix Anyasi.

The electoral committee chairman, Prof Ken Anugweje, represented by Lady Juliana Anyanwu, a retired Director at the Sports Council, and the other members conducted the elections.

Dike succeeded Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, who served for 18 years and has since announced his retirement from football management.

Uchegbulam, a former first Vice President of the NFF, thanked the delegates for their support even as they unanimously named him an honorary chairman to provide encouragement and counsel when needed.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments