HomeFeatures27 Internet Fraudsters In Awka Sentenced To Jail By Court

27 Internet Fraudsters In Awka Sentenced To Jail By Court

Listen to article

On Tuesday, the Enugu Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) revealed that it had secured the conviction and sentencing of 27 internet fraudsters before Justice Nnamdi Dimgba of the Federal High Court in Awka, Anambra State.

The convicts are: Ajaero Chidiebube, Kosisochukwu Wisdom Ugwu, Apeh Samuel, Hyacinth Henry, Ebuka Moses Ugwu, Abugu Emmanuel Ebuka, Ogbu George, Onoja Chekwube, Onu Ogbonna Celestine, Ugwude Innocent Ekene, Solomon Emeka Okechukwu, Kosisochukwu Mamah, Idoko Fidelis Ejiofor, David Ifebuche Moses, Jude Ikechukwu, Kosisochukwu Idoko Martins and Victor Odoh Chinecherem.

Others are; Eze Caleb Somtochukwu, Ekeleme Victor, Osuji Kingsley, Eze Sopuruchukwu Marvin, Osuji Nnaemeka, Ikechi David, Ejiogu Chizoba, Arinze John Ojobo, Eze Daniel Chinecherem and Michael Ojo

They were incarcerated following their guilty pleas to one-count separate charges, which included fraudulent impersonation and obtaining by false pretense.

Read also: Soludo’s Aides Destroy Newspapers, Demolishs Stands In Awka

The charge against Okechukwu reads: “That you, Solomon Emeka Okechukwu sometime in 2024, at Enugu, Enugu State within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court, fraudulently impersonated Jennifer Alberto from Reading, United Kingdom by means of your Tecno Camon 20 with IMEI number 3551344570732428 via a fake Facebook Social Media Account with the intent to gain advantage for yourself from unsuspecting foreign nationals and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 22 (3) (a) and (b) of the Cybercrime (Prohibition, Prevention, etc) Act 2015 and punishable under Section 22 (4) of the same Act”.

Considering their pleas, prosecution counsel Michael Ikechukwu Ani presented the facts of the cases and urged the court to convict and sentence them accordingly. However, defense counsels Okeke Bernard and James Nwatarali sought leniency for their clients.

Justice Dimgba thereafter convicted and sentenced them as follows; Marvin was sentenced to one-year imprisonment with an option of fine of N120,000,00 (One Hundred and Twenty Thousand Naira) and community service, Samuel, Henry, Ugwu, Ebuka, Martins and Chinecherem bagged one-year imprisonment each, with an option of fine of N50,000.00( Fifty Thousand Naira) and community service while the rest were handed 1year imprisonment each, with an option of fine of N150,000.00 (One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) and community service.

Justice Dimgba also decreed that the mobile phones confiscated from them be surrendered to the Federal Government.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments