HomePoliticsAnambra 2021: Ex-Speaker, Minister, Others Join APC

Anambra 2021: Ex-Speaker, Minister, Others Join APC

Listen to article

The immediate past Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Hon. Rita Maduagwu and former Minister of State for transportation, John Emeka have both defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Eastern Updates reports that Maduagwu dumped the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for the APC, while Emeka joined from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

They defected on Sunday at a reception ceremony organised for Senator Joy Emodi at her Onitsha residence by the APC leadership in the state.

Read Also: Connecting To The Centre Will Liberate Anambra – APC

Another state PDP chieftain  Chris Chikwelu equally joined the APC on the occasion alongside a former APGA governorship aspirant, Chuma Nzeribe.

During the ceremony also scores of PDP members from Onitsha North, Onitsha South, Ayamelum, and Anambra East local government areas of the state as well as some Hausa and Yoruba communities in Onitsha joined APC.

Receiving the defectors, the state chairman of APC, Chief Basil Ejidike, commended their decision to join the party, saying belonging to a party at the centre was the right thing to go.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments