HomeFeaturesEbonyi Govt Inaugurates Peace C'ttee On Ezza/Effium Crisis

Ebonyi Govt Inaugurates Peace C’ttee On Ezza/Effium Crisis

Listen to article

The Government of Ebonyi State has taken a decisive step towards resolving the protracted conflict in the Ezza-Effium/Effium area by inaugurating a Peace Committee.

The action is intended to put the suggestions made in the White Paper that the government had previously issued into practice.

The three-year crisis which began in 2021, has claimed many lives, with property worth billions of naira destroyed.

In a ceremony held yesterday at the Cabinet Office, Abakaliki, the Governor of Ebonyi State, Rt. Hon. Francis Nwifuru, represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Professor Grace Umezurike, emphasized the government’s commitment to resolving the communal crisis.

The Eastern Updates reports that Committee is tasked with the crucial responsibility of implementing the directives laid out in the White Paper.

The committee Chaired by Ambassador Franklin Ogbuewu has Senator Sonni Ogbuoji as Secretary.

It comprises esteemed members drawn from various sectors.

Read Also: Ebonyi Man Moves To Break GWR For Marathon Ironing

Umezurike underscored the significance of the Committee’s formation, stating that “the aim of this committee is to lay to rest the persistent crisis in Ezza-Effium/Effium, which has been a source of concern for the government.”

The terms of reference outlined by Governor Nwifuru include reading the White Paper to the affected communities, implementing its contents, garnering support for land surveying and demarcation, and conducting a comprehensive survey of the Effium land.

However, she issued a stern warning against overstepping boundaries, asserting that the Committee’s mandate concludes with surveying, and any demarcation of land will be handled by the Ebonyi State Government.

“All the documents you will need will be made available,” she affirmed, emphasizing transparency and collaboration in the process.

In acceptance of their roles, the Committee Chairman expressed gratitude to Governor Nwifuru for entrusting them with such a significant task.

He pledged the Committee’s unwavering commitment, acknowledging the gravity of the responsibility bestowed upon them.

Among the distinguished members of the Committee are: Dr. Ben Uruchi Odo, Hon. Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice; Barrister Albert Alo, Solicitor General; Engr. Stanley Lebechi Mbam, Commissioner for Works; Dr. Matthew Nwobasi, Commissioner for Lands and Survey; Engr. Francis Ori, Commissioner for Housing and Urban Development; Mr. John Igbede, Surveyor General; Dr. Scamb Nwokolo, Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Ebonyi State Chapter; Rev. Fr. Samuel Okorie; and Rev. Fr. Cornelius Chukwu.

The inauguration of the Peace Committee marks a significant milestone in the journey towards reconciliation and sustainable peace in Ezza-Effium/Effium.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments