HomePolitics6 Labor Party Members Of Enugu Assembly Defect To PDP

6 Labor Party Members Of Enugu Assembly Defect To PDP

Listen to article

Six Members of the Enugu State House of Assembly who were elected on the platform of the Labour Party (LP) have officially dumped their party and defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

They made their defection known on Thursday in Enugu in a letter read by the Speaker, Chief Uche Ugwu, during plenary.

The Eastern Updates reports that the defectors include the Majority Leader, Mr Johnson Ani (Enugu North); the Chief Whip, Mr. Ejike Eze, (Igbo-Eze North 1) and the Deputy Chief Whip, Ms Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural).

Others are Mr Pius Ezugwu (Nsukka East); Mr Williams Amuka (Igbo-Etiti West); and Mr Osita Eze (Oji River).

The defectors, in the letters, said their defection was as a result of the existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the labour party at the national level and across all the state chapters.

They regretted that the party had evolved into perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles, which undermine its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

Read Also: 24 Years Of PDP Reign In Abia Was Wasteful – APGA Chieftain

According to them, the Labour Party, once considered a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, have regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.

They cited the cases of Mr. Julius Abure and Mr Limido Apapa factions as well as the national treasurer as some of the divisions within the party.

They expressed the hope that the PDP would give them the platform to continue to serve the interests of their people and thanked the leaderships of Labour Party for their supports.

They also acknowledge that the letters were sent to the office of the Speaker by themselves, adding that they would work wholeheartedly for the progress of their new party in Enugu State.

In his remark, the Speaker welcomed the defectors into the PDP and promised that they would be carried along in the legislative activities of the House.

Reacting to the defection, the Chairman of the Labour Party in Enugu State, Chief Casmir Agbo said that he was just returning from the party’s National Convention which was held in Anambra State. He added that the party will soon meet to take a stand on the development.

With this development, the Peoples Democratic Party now has an overwhelming majority with 18 members while the while LP has six members.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments