HomePoliticsAnambra Tribunal Receives 31 Parliamentary Election Petitions

Anambra Tribunal Receives 31 Parliamentary Election Petitions

Listen to article

The Election Petitions Tribunal in Anambra has confirmed that it received 31 petitions with respect to the 25th of February National Assembly elections in the state.

Secretary to the tribunal, Muazu Bagudu, revealed 24 of the petitions were on the House of Representatives elections.

The remaining seven were on Senate elections, he said. There are two petitions challenging the victory of Sen. Victor Umeh of the Labour Party (LP) in Anambra Central senatorial district.

The petitions were filed by Dozie Nwankwo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Helen Mbakwe of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP). Winner of Anambra South Senatorial election, Sen. Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Peoples’ Party (YPP) is having is victory contested by three other candidates. They are Dr. Obinna Uzoh of LP, Chris Azubuogu of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and Chris Uba of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Read Also: 2023: Anambra Tribunal Receives 31 Election Petitions

In Anambra North Senatorial district, Tony Nwoye of LP has two petitions against his victory. They were filed by the PDP and by Sen. Stella Oduah also of the PDP. For the House of Representatives elections, Pascal Agbordike of APGA who won the Ihiala seat has four petitions filed against his victory. The petitions were filed by JohnMary Maduakolam (PDP), Chiemeka Hezekiah (LP), Chukwueloka Egwemezie, and Chuddy Momah. There are also petitions against the victory of Chinwe Nnabuife (YPP) in Orumba North/South federal constituency.

The petitions were filed by Mr Sopuluchkwu Ezeonwuka, Nikky Ugochukwu (LP), Okwudili Ezenwankwo PDP and Eric Eze, (APGA). For Nnewi North/Nnewi South/Ekwusigo, Mr Ifeanyi Uzokwe (YPP), Mr Emeka Anagwu (LP) and Timothy Ibeto are contesting the election of Mr Uchenna Eleodimmuo. Maureen Gwacham of APGA, winner of Oyi/Ayamelum Constituency will face Uchenna Okafor (YPP), Vincent Ofumelu, (PDP) and Obiora Chira (LP). Dominic Okafor (APGA) who won the seat for Aguata Constituency will face Johnbosco Onunkwo (APC), Andrew Azike (LP) and Kenneth Anyaeche.

In Awka North/South, Prof. Lilian Orogbu (LP) will defend her victory against Obi Nwankwo (APGA) and Mr Maxwell Okoye (APC). Ifeanyi Ibezi (APC) and Mr IKenna Iyiegbu (APGA) are challenging the victory of Mr Harris Okonkwo in the Idemili North/South Federal Constituency election. Chinedu Obidigwe (APGA) is challenging the victory of Mr Peter Udogalanya (LP) Anambra East/West Constituency, while Ms Lynda Ikpeazu (PDP) is contesting the victory of Emeka Idu (LP) Onitsha North South Federal Constituency.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments