HomePolitics2023: Abaribe Defeats Ikpeazu, Retains Senatorial Seat

2023: Abaribe Defeats Ikpeazu, Retains Senatorial Seat

Listen to article

The Senator representing Abia South Senatorial District seat in the National Assembly, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe has defeated Governor Okezie Ikpeazu to retain the position. 

Abaribe who ran on the platform of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), beat the governor who belongs to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmaker was declared winner in Aba on Tuesday, by the returning officer for the election Prof. Georgina Ugwuanyi.

Abaribe polled a total of 49,693 votes to defeat his closest rivals and the candidate of the Labour Party Mr Chinedu Onyeizu, who got 43,903 votes while Ikpeazu of the Peoples Democratic Party polled 28,422 votes.

Read Also: 2023: We Will Endorse A Presidential Candidate Soon – MASSOB

The governorship candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in Abia State, Dr. Alex Otti, has said two ‘Goliaths’ have been cut down in the political structure of the state as results emerge from the 2023 general elections.

Otti, who was honoured with a courtesy visit yesterday by the victorious LP National Assembly candidates, the duo of Senator-elect Darlington Nwokocha (Abia Central) and House of Reps member-elect, Ginger Onwusibe (Isialangwa South and North), who had come to pay him homage, said more of such political Goliaths will still fall.

The Eastern Updates reports that LP candidate favoured winning the March 11, 2023, Governorship Election in Abia congratulated Nwokocha and Onwusibe and five other LP candidates who have just won their elections to the Federal House of Representatives. They are Hon Emeka Nnamani, Aba South and North; Hon Munachim Alozie, Obingwa-Osisioma-Ugwunagbo; Ibe Okwara Osonwa, Arochukwu-Ohafia; Hon Amobi Ogah, Isuikwuato-Umunneochi and Obi Aguocha, Ikwuano-Umuahia.

Labour Party in Abia, under the leadership of Dr. Otti, swept six Federal Constituency seats out of eight and one out of three senatorial seats in the state at the February 25, 2023 National Assembly election.

The Eastern Updates

Most Popular

Recent Comments