Home Politics Anambra Assembly Renews 21 LGAs’ TC Chairmen Tenure

Anambra Assembly Renews 21 LGAs’ TC Chairmen Tenure

Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of transition committee chairmen (TCC) for 21 local government areas for another three months.

This was sequel to a letter received by the House from Governor Willie Obiano for consideration of the nominees as TCC in the 21 councils.

The tenure renewal was made during plenary, presided over by Speaker Uchenna Okafor in line with section 280 of the Local Government Law 1999 as amended, and as requested by Governor Obiano.

Read Also: 10% Tax Refund: Anambra Traders Jubilate Over Disbursement

The lawmakers had, at the committee of the whole, screened and considered the election of the TCC of the 21 local government areas.

Okafor read out the confirmation of their appointments to the House, while the lawmakers unanimously adopted it through voice votes.

The speaker urged the TCC to attract more dividends of democracy to their respective councils. He urged them to assist Obiano in making his achievements visible in their councils.

Responding, Idemili North Local Government Area TCC, Raphael Nnabuife, thanked the House and Obiano for giving them another opportunity to pilot affairs of their councils and said they would continue to work for the benefit of the state.



- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Buhari’s Government Is Ineffectual – Chimamanda Adichie

Multiple award-winning writer, feminist and public intellectual, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, has described the government of Muhammadu Buhari as ineffectual. She made this assertion in an...

End SARS: Enugu Must Not Be Touched – Nnamdi Kanu Warns

Mazi Nnamdi Kanu, leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, has issued a stern warning to State Governors, asking them to learn from what...

Protesters Burn Down Police Station In Imo State

Hoodlums on Wednesday set Nworieubi Police Divisional Headquarters in Mbaitoli LGA of Imo State on fire in continuation of the ongoing protest against police...

#EndSARS: Why I Imposed 24-Hour Curfew In Imo – Uzodinma

The Imo state governor Hope Uzodinma has said that he imposed 24-hour curfew in the state, to avoid the protests leading to loss of...

Recent Comments